F4i Winter Clean-Up

RideCBR.com Forums Member Build Threads F4i Winter Clean-Up

This topic contains 19 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of kennmcook kennmcook 2 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of 01cbr600f4i
    01cbr600f4i
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Regular

Hi all, I’ve been floating around these forums for a few months now and have come to appreciate a lot of the builds everyone has taken on. So much so that I thought I would throw together updates on the revamping I’m doing through the snowy months here in Nova Scotia.

I bought the bike in the summer, and did a few things before I started riding it. Fluids, speed sensor, fender eliminator and integrated tail light. But overall the bike was in decent shape. My plans aren’t too extravagant this winter, mostly cleaning up and servicing the few odds and ends I hadn’t bothered with through the summer. Plans so far are;
    -Brake overhaul, caliper rebuilds, new pads, rotors and stainless flex hoses
    -Shorty Levers
    -Headlight to replace the unit the P.O. had fiber glassed.
    -Powder coat or paint the wheels, not sure which route I’ve decided on yet.
    -Clean up foot controls and rear sets.
    -And of course some RideCBR.com decals to finish everything off!

I’m sure the list will be added to and modified. I’m lucky enough to work at a repair shop with lots of resources which will be very helpful through the process.

Here are some pictures of the caliper tear down to start.

I’ll keep everyone updated on the projects as they continue.

Profile photo of theredrocket
    theredrocket
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru

Did you get the calipers sandblasted? I want to paint mine another color but not sure if I can just primer and paint over the gold.

Profile photo of cbr-f2
    cbr-f2
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru

Very nice… Always fun to see others projects and what they do. :drunk: