Fun with liquid nitrogen

RideCBR.com Forums RideCBR.com Member Clubhouse Fun with liquid nitrogen

This topic contains 13 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of theredrocket theredrocket 4 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of theredrocket
    theredrocket
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru

Just some work fun. We are using the liquid nitrogen to shrink large bearings for the installation into the line bores in the case in the video. Just thought I would share as I thought it was cool.

theredrocket
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru

I might need to put it up on youtube and create a link. If you click on the pic it should direct you to the video. Sorry, I am a mechanic not an IT guy. If that is the correct term for a computer guy, I dont want to offend @admin or anything. Like calling a midget a midget is bad and little person is right.

Profile photo of thebearded1
    thebearded1
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Addict

On the other hand, it gave the shop floor some wicked cool effects for a few minutes.
    I always thought that the liquid nitrogen would make the metals brittle – the same as intense heat after tempering…I guess I’m wrong?

Profile photo of hubbard2a
    hubbard2a
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru

Not as extreme I guess……But we Just bought a Box or dry Ice to shrink a Threaded nozzle one a Filling machine at work to remove it with the threads damaged……That night we were sitting in the shop putting dry ice in cups and pouring scallding hot water on it and making killer Fog with it in much the same way. I had some cool vids, but I think I erased em all a few days ago……….

theredrocket
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru