Headlight modulator

RideCBR.com Forums RideCBR.com Member Clubhouse Headlight modulator

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of nueyf4i nueyf4i 1 month ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of nueyf4i
    nueyf4i
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru

This may be an old man topic and I’ve never seen one on a sport bike, but I recently installed a headlight modulator on my ST1300. I’ve only had it for a few days, but I like it so far. . . Opinions?

I’ll try to upload a video. .

Profile photo of nueyf4i
    nueyf4i
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru

Profile photo of kewlbreeze
    kewlbreeze
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru

Probably doesn’t matter since you already have them and I’m no expert on the them but I considered getting them and a lot of the reports I saw mentioned a triangle method of lights is more effective .. like the lights you already have right below your signals except moved down to the lower part of the forks to create a triangle. A while back I tried to find reports on effectiveness of modulator lights and there wasn’t much out there and most of it was anecdotal so I don’t know how effective they are (or not). I’m sure they can’t hurt and seem like they would obviously be better than nothing although personally I would set them to slower modulation as they get confusing** when flickering at higher rate.

**By “confusing” I mean; obviously the intention of them is to be seen and not get hit (esp. by oncoming left turners into your path). The faster rate modulation seems to me it may create the opposite effect by creating tunnel vision / target fixation for the oncoming turner and a slower rate would have more effect. Again, just my layman’s viewpoint and I have no data to back any of that up so I may be wrong.

Profile photo of nueyf4i
    nueyf4i
    Registered Member
    RideCBR Guru